DCW vs UPW WPL 2023: Delhi Capitals continue their dominance as UP Warriorz face 42-run loss in Navi Mumbai


Image source: TWITTER Delhi beat UP

DCW vs UPW WPL 2023: Meg Lanning’s Delhi Capitals Women continued their winning run by defeating Alyssa Healy’s UP Warriors in the 5th match of the tournament on Tuesday. Chasing a mammoth score of 212, the Warriors were restricted to 169/5 as Jas Jonasson starred with the ball. For his 3/4 off 43 balls and 42 off 20 balls with the bat, Jonasson was named Player of the Match.

UP Warriors could hardly chase. They needed more than 10 runs in an over and needed a blistering start from the openers. But three quick wickets sent them on the back foot and they could not recover. Tahlia McGrath hit a couple of hits and played a brilliant innings of 90*, but she was left alone with a lot of work to do. Even though he hit shots from one end, he was not getting support from the other end as the required rate went above 15. Jonasson was the pick of the bowlers with 3/43 from 4 overs, while Marijan Cup and Shikha Pandey chipped in. with every wicket.

Delhi Capitals made another strong statement with the bat. Meg Lanning was on the money once again as she scored back-to-back fifties. Shefali and Lanning got off to a good start, crossing the fifty-run mark without losing a wicket. But Verma was soon sent back and the Warriors continued to take wickets at regular intervals, including Lanning’s valuable scalp of 70 runs.

However, Rodriguez and Jonassen took advantage of the opportunity in the death overs. The two joined hands at 144/4 and then took over the bowlers. Jonassen scored an unbeaten 42 off 20 balls, while Rodriguez scored 34* off 22 balls. Both crossed the 200-run mark for the second time in a row to propel the Capitals’ innings. Capitals finished on 211/4.

Capitals Playing XI:

Meg Lanning (C), Shefali Verma, Marizan Capp, Jemimah Rodriguez, Alice Capps, Jess Jonassen, Tania Bhatia (WK), Arundhati Reddy, Shikha Pandey, Radha Yadav, Tara Norris

Warriors Playing XI:

Alyssa Healy (c&wk), Shweta Sehrawat, Kiran Navgire, Tahlia McGrath, Deepti Sharma, Simran Shaikh, Devika Vaidya, Sophie Ecclestone, Shabneem Ismail, Anjali Saravani, Rajeshwari Gaekwa

Latest cricket news

Read original article here

Leave A Reply