RCBW vs DCW, WPL 2023: Delhi edge past Bangalore in Navi Mumbai as Mandhana’s side remains winless


Image Source: PTI Delhi defeated Bangalore

RCBW vs DCW, WPL 2023: In Navi Mumbai on Monday, Delhi Capitals defeated the Royal Challengers Bangalore team in an exciting match. Meg Lanning’s team Smriti Mandhana and co. DY Patil Stadium won by 6 wickets to register their 4th win of the tournament. Meanwhile, Smriti Mandhana’s Bangalore remained victorious even after this match as they failed to defend the score of 150 runs.

Capital had another good day. They restricted the challengers to 150 before the batsmen completed a tense chase in the final over. As the match went down to the wire, Marizanne Kapp and Jess Jonasson held their nerve to lead the Capitals home. They shared a partnership of 45 runs for the 5th wicket.

Deciding to bowl first, Capitals got off to a flying start by bowling a maiden over. They caught the RCB openers and got the wicket of Mandhana early. Shikha Pandey accounted for both the openers, removing Devine after Mandhana. Ellyse Perry was finding it difficult and was not able to attack 100 either. But once he finds Richa Ghosh besides himself, the duo goes all guns blazing. At 50/2 after 10 overs, Bengaluru got a big over from the 15th over as they crossed the 100-run mark. But just as Bangalore were eyeing a score of 160+, they suffered a setback as Pandey found Ghosh. Bengaluru finished on 150/4 thanks to Perry’s 52-ball 67 and Ghosh’s 16-ball 37.

Capitals didn’t get off to a good start either as Megan Schutt took the wicket of Shefali Verma on the second ball of the innings as she was dismissed for a golden duck. Alice Capsey hit a few shots around the park to get the Capitals going but she fell in the fifth over when the score was 45. The match took a turn after Lanning’s departure but Marizan cap remained high even after the wicket of Jemima Rodrigues. He and Jess Jonasson kept their cool when 24 runs were needed off 18 balls. Kapp and Jonassen hit crucial fours in the final overs to see Delhi home with two balls to spare. With this defeat, Bengaluru’s top three hopes may be dashed as they are on a five-match winless run. Delhi have now won 4 of their 5 matches.

Delhi Capitals Playing XI:

Meg Lanning (C), Shefali Verma, Alice Capsey, Jemimah Rodriguez, Maryzanne Cupp, Tania Bhatia (WK), Jess Jonasson, Arundhati Reddy, Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey, Tara Norris

Royal Challengers Bangalore Playing XI:

Smriti Mandhana (C), Sophie Devine, Elise Perry, Heather Knight, Richa Ghosh (WK), Shreyanka Patil, Disha Kasat, Megan Scoot, Asha Shobana, Renuka Thakur Singh, Preeti Bose

Latest cricket news

Read original article here

Leave A Reply